Law school and an unintentional hiatus

study-by-the-pool

Do you ever find that there are so many things happening to and around you that you just don’t know how to talk about any of them?

Or that there’s one big thing, just one thing, that you’re not ready to talk about yet – and it makes all your other words get stuck in your throat?

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged; to be honest, it’s been a long time since I’ve thought about blogging, too. A lot has happened in the 9 months since I last put fingers to keyboard in the service of this little corner of the Internet. Finally, I think I’m ready to talk.

When I started law school back in June of last year, I was determined that that was going to be the last big change in my life. I’d already left my partner, moved in with my best friend, and booked a big European holiday, and That Was It. I was done with changes, done with making hard choices and struggling with the consequences. Life, of course, had other ideas. I struggled with unemployment. I tried my best to support my friend through her first year of teaching. I stayed in bed until midday, far too many days in a row.

Now I’m back, or I’m getting there. I’ve remembered that I’m valuable, and so are the things I have to say. I’ve remembered that this is my blog, and no-one here is going to judge me for changing my reading habits during my unintentional hiatus. Because that was part of it – I stopped reading, and so I stopped having things to write about. Even now I mostly just read court judgements and textbooks, or spend too much time in the fanfiction corner of Tumblr. But I do what I can, and every couple of days I read another page or two. That’s all any of us can do.

So stay tuned for a return from hiatus. We’ll be back to your regularly scheduled program talking books, studying, and real life in no time.

It’s great to be back.

One thought on “Law school and an unintentional hiatus

  1. So excited to see this update! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I am looking forward to reading all about what’s going on in your head.

Leave a Reply

