Autumn essentials

You know how you spend a weekend shopping and you come home and look over all of your purchases and think, yeah, I’m never letting you out of my sight? That happened last weekend.

It was the Labour Day weekend in Victoria (which I may have mentioned previously), so my lovey and I spent the time shopping and exploring Melbourne. I bought some funky socks, a duffel bag and a pair of boots which would be permenantly glued to my feet if they were office-appropriate. (The bag has already accompanied me to work a couple of times, I’ll admit.)

topshop-straw-duffel-white-fictionandflowers.wordpress.com-autumn-essentials

Topshop straw duffel bag, $60

The photo is white, but the one I have is black, with the same coloured pattern on the body. It’s the perfect size for everyday use – just right to fit my diary, wallet and a novel, but not so huge that I can’t help adding my iPad and a water bottle as well. Hey, if I take my Kindle, I can have the book AND the water bottle (winner!). The long strap is adjustable and the whole thing sits really comfortably against the hip or thigh, which is a huge deal for me. I have little shoulders, so if a bad doesn’t sit right, it just falls right off my shoulder.

steve-madden-brown-buckled-ankle-boots-fictionandflowers.wordpress.com-autumn-essentials

Steve Madden Takker ankle boot, $80 on sale

I’ve been looking for the perfect casual brown boot forever, and I’m so pumped about these. They need a bit of wearing in, but between the cute buckles and perfect brown they have going on, that’s not going to be too much of a chore.

One of my favourite things about autumn is that boots and jeans start to be bearable to wear again. There’s something so comforting, even if you’re spending all day out and about, about keeping your feet cosy in a pair of cute boots.

I’m considering adding a couple of scarves to my autumn essentials list, because they’re so cute and adaptable, especially in fickle Melbourne weather, but scarves tend to be a bit of a fad thing for me. I’ll wear one for a couple of weeks, and then never pick it up again.

What do you think? Scarves? Love ’em or hate ’em? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

